Are we allowed to eat foods such as Ojri (stomach) or the brain or testicle’s of a Goat/Sheep?

Questioner: Danyaal from UK


بسم اللہ الرحمن الرحیم

الجواب بعون الملک الوھاب اللھم ھدایۃ الحق والصواب

All the body parts of a Halal animal (including meat, brain etc.) are Halal to consume. However, there are some parts which are either Haram or Makruh or Prohibited. The latter includes the Ojri (stomach) and testicles. Therefore, it is unlawful to eat Orji and testicles, whereas consuming the brain of a Halal animal is permissible. As it is mentioned in Fatawa al-Ridawiyyah:

حلال جانور کے سب اجزاء حلال ہیں، مگر بعض کہ حرام یا ممنوع یا مکروہ ہیں (۱) رگوں کا خون (۲) پتا (۳) پُھکنا (۴) و (۵) علامات مادہ ونر (۶) بیضے (۷) غدود (۸) حرام مغز (۹) گردن کے دو پٹھے کہ شانوں تک کھنچے ہوتے ہیں (۱۰) جگر کا خون (۱۱) تلی کا خون (۱۲) گوشت کا خون کہ بعد ذبح گوشت میں سے نکلتا ہے (۱۳) دل کا خون (۱۴) پت یعنی وہ زرد پانی کہ پتے میں ہوتاہے (۱۵) ناک کی رطوبت کہ بھیڑ میں اکثر ہوتی ہے (۱۶) پاخانہ کا مقام (۱۷) اوجھڑی (۱۸) آنتیں (۱۹) نطفہ (۲۰) وہ نطفہ کہ خون ہوگیا (۲۱) وہ کہ گوشت کا لوتھڑا ہوگیا (۲۲) وہ کہ پورا جانور بن گیا اور مردہ نکلا یا بے ذبح مرگیا

All the parts of a Halal animal are Halal except a few which are either Haram or prohibited or Makruh.

[They include] (1) blood of the veins (2) gall bladder (3) bladder (4-5) genitals of male and female [animals] (6) testicles (7) glands (8) spinal cord (9) tendons that stretch from the neck to the shoulders (10) liver-blood (11) spleen-blood (12) meat-blood emanating from meat after the slaughter (13) heart-blood (14) bile or gall (i.e. a yellowish fluid in the gall bladder) (15) nasal fluid mostly found in sheep (16) anus (17) tripe (18) intestines (19) sperm (20) the sperm that has turned into blood (21) the sperm that has turned into a piece of flesh and (22) the one that has turned into a complete animal and is born dead or born alive but has died without being slaughtered.

[Fatawa al-Ridawiyyah vol 20, pg. 240-241]

واللہ تعالی اعلم ورسولہ اعلم صلی اللہ علیہ وآلہ وسلم

Answered by Muftī Syed Owais Ali

Also see:

[Q-ID0425] Can Muslims eat Kosher/meat slaughtered by Jews?

[Q-ID0354] Are Prawns, Crabs & Shellfish halal to eat?

[Q-ID0259] Buying ‘halal’ meat without investigating where and from whom it has come

[Q-ID0368] Is pre-stunned chicken and meat Halal or Haram?

Share this with your family & friends: