What is the ruling regarding vinegar that is made from alcohol such as spirit vinegar, white wine vinegar, etc?
The dictionary defines vinegar as “a sour liquid obtained by acetic fermentation of dilute alcoholic liquids and used as a condiment or preservative.”
Most vinegars are initially from alcohol. Once the certain type of alcohol or material containing sugar is fermented in a particular way it becomes vinegar. The alcohol loses its essence (intoxication) and no longer remains alcohol therefore becoming vinegar which is pure as well as Halal to use.
Cider vinegar or Apple vinegar is made from the two-fold fermentation of the juices of apples. Vinegar can be made from other fruits such as peaches and berries with the labels describing starting materials.
Wine vinegar or Grape vinegar is made from the two-fold fermentation of the juice of grapes.
Spirit or distilled vinegar is made by the acetic fermentation of dilute distilled alcohol.
It is labelled white wine vinegar, spirit vinegar etc. As this was the alcohol/ material that was fermented to become vinegar.
It is stated in Kanz al-Daqaiq;
“Vinegar from alcohol is Halal, regardless of if it was made or became [vinegar] itself.”
Therefore, it is permissible to consume White vinegar, spirit vinegar etc. As it is no longer alcohol containing intoxication, and the state has completely changed. Also, this type of vinegar is clean and pure, thus if it falls on clothing etc. then the cloth is clean.
Allah knows best.
(Information regarding vinegar and its preparation taken from various reliable sources on the internet)
Answered by Mawlana Muhammad Kalim
verified by Mufti Zahid Hussain Al-Qadiri – answer from www.thesunniway.com